Draft agenda

## **DOCUMENT 1**

#### 27<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting of the Academia Europaea members To be held in TU Darmstadt (Audi max) Karolinenplatz 5 64283 Darmstadt Germany 49° 52' 30.396" N, 8° 39' 24.732" E

# 7 September 2015 13:00 – 14:00

## ALL DOCUMENTS CAN BE FOUND ON THIS WEBPAGE:

In the chair: The President - Professor. Dr. Sierd Cloetingh (Utrecht)

- 1. Welcome, adoption of the draft agenda [Doc 1]
- 2. To approve the minutes of the 2014 Annual Business Meeting [Doc 2]
- **3.** Questions to the Trustees on any matters arising from the minutes of 2014, where these are not otherwise covered in the agenda below?

## Transaction of Ordinary Business

#### 4. Appointments and elections

## 4.1 ELECTION OF A TREASURER OF THE ACADEMIA EUROPAEA [Doc 4.1]

#### Resolution: That the AGM do elect a TREASURER, for the period 2015-2018.

**Background statement by the Board**: The Board of the Academia Europaea (Regulations Section 13 (4)) having undertaken a call for candidates and a review of the same: propose, that Professor Peter Scott be elected by the members at the 2015 AGM.

**NOTE**: that on 17 June (at their meeting in Bergen), the Trustees accepted the resignation of Professor Elliott as Treasurer (article 36c). So, In line with the Regulations, the Trustees agreed immediately to appoint Professor Scott pro tem as Treasurer, until the 2015 AGM.

#### **Resolution**

The Board now recommend: that members present and voting do hereby elect Peter Scott to the position of Honorary Treasurer of the Academia Europaea Ltd.

The three-year term of office shall commence effectively from the close of the AGM of 7 September 2015, in Darmstadt .

## 4.2 RE-ELECTION OF A VICE PRESIDENT

## [Doc 4.2]

Under Regulations (7 (2)). Professor Anne Buttimer, having completed a first term as Vice President, has expressed a wish to be re-elected for a final term (of three years).

## **Resolution**

The Board recommend: that members elect Professor Anne Buttimer (interim Class Chair of the Social, Economic and Related Science Sections of the Academia Europaea) as a Vice President.

## 4.3 CO-OPTED TRUSTEES - terms

Under Regulation (9 (2)): The Council have approved the co-option of the following as Trustees;

Professor Theo D'Haen (Editor-in-Chief of the European Review);

**Professor Ole Petersen (**Chair of the Class for Life Sciences Sections and Academic Director of the Cardiff Hub).

The Academia Europaea is a Company limited by Guarantee registered in the UK (7028223) and a registered notfor-profit Charity (1133902). Registered office: Room 251, Senate House, Malet Street. London WC1E 7HU. Tel: +44(0)2078625784. Website: www.ae-info.org

## **Resolution:**

The Board ask : that members approve a further period co-option as follows; Professor Ole Petersen Until the AGM of 2017 Professor Theo D'Haen. Until the AGM of 2016

5 Reports (covering the past 12 months and going forward): QUESTIONS ARE INVITED

5.1 President - Sierd Cloetingh. 2014 Activity report and highlights

<u>Resolution</u>: That the AGM adopt the audited 2014 annual activity report [the report is available on the corporate website] [Doc 5.1]

5.2 Interim Treasurer - Professor Peter Scott

5.2.1 Annual financial statement :

- Resolution: That the AGM adopt the audited accounts.[Doc 5.2]The accounts are accessible on the AE website
- 5.2.2 <u>Resolution</u>: that the AGM\_ re-appoint the Auditors: Messrs Keith Vaudrey and Co. Ltd, London.
- 5.2.3 Annual members' financial contribution for 2016

<u>Resolution</u>: The Trustees recommend that the AGM approve an annual, voluntary contribution of 120 Euros, from January 1<sup>st</sup> 2016.

- 5.3 Chair of the 'Class Chairs group' and Trustee Prof. Ole Petersen
  - 5.3.1 New Members elected in 2015
    - 5.3.2 Operation of the 2015 evaluation and class meetings.
    - 5.3.3 Announcement of the call for new member nominations 2016
    - 5.3.4 The AGM are asked to approve the establishing of a new
      - Section (in the Class of Humanities) Prof. Larsen
- 5.4 Presentation of plans for the Barcelona Knowledge Hub Prof. Ricard Guerrero
- 5.5 Presentation of plans for the Wroclaw Knowledge Hub Prof. Tadeuz Luty
- 5.6 Presentation of plans for the Bergen Knowledge Hub Prof. Jan Vaagen
- 5.7 Presentation of launch plans for the Cardiff Hub Prof. Ole Petersen
- 5.8 Presentation of the Young Academy of Europe Dr Lynn Kamerlin (President)
- 5.9 Announcement of the 2016 Erasmus Medal and Lecture Prof. Balazs Gyulas

#### 6. Special Business of the AGM

#### 6.1 Amendments to the Regulations

The Trustees are recommending a number of changes to the Regulations of the Academia Europaea. The proposed resolution is accompanied by an explanatory statement. [Document 6.1]

Any other Business (notified in advance)
7.1 Notification of changes to Section committees [Doc 7.1]

The Academia Europaea is a Company limited by Guarantee registered in the UK (7028223) and a registered notfor-profit Charity (1133902). Registered office: Room 251, Senate House, Malet Street. London WC1E 7HU. Tel: +44(0)2078625784. Website: www.ae-info.org