



'The Academy of Europe'

Fourth Floor, 21 Albemarle Street, London. W1S 4HS Tel: +44 (0)20 7495 3717 Fax: +44 (0)20 7629 5442 http://www.ae-info.org

Press release

Issued: 17 July 2014

The Board of the Academia Europaea<sup>1</sup> have issued the following information:

## Election of a President

The Board of Trustees are pleased to announce that Professor Sierd Cloetingh MAE was elected by the membership at an Annual general Meeting, held in Barcelona on 16<sup>th</sup> July, 2014.

Professor Cloetingh is the sixth President of the Academia Europaea. He will serve a term of three years.

Sierd Cloetingh is Royal Netherlands Academy Professor of Earth Sciences at Utrecht University. He published more than 250 papers in international peerreviewed journals and has been promoter of more than 65 PhD students of 20 different nationalities. He served the Earth Science community in various functions, including Presidency of the European Geophysical Society. He is currently the President of the International Lithosphere Programme, Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal "Global and Planetary Change" and Chairman of the Scientific Committee of the ESF Large Scale Collaborative Research Programme (EUROCORES) TOPO-EUROPE. He received honorary doctorates from five European universities and numerous honours and awards, including the Holmes Medal and Stephan Mueller Medal of the European Geosciences Union, Fellow and Honorary Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the Geological Society of America, the Leopold von Buch Medal of the German Geological Society and the Alexander von Humboldt Research Prize. He is member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences and Foreign member of the Royal Norwegian Academy of Sciences, the Royal Danish

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Academia Europaea is an international, non-governmental association of individual scientists and scholars. The Academy is pan-European with elected members drawn from the whole European continent. Membership is currently in the region of 3,000 who cover the natural sciences, humanities and letters. The Academy was founded in 1988. Members are drawn from some 35 European countries and eight non-European countries. Members are grouped into 20 Academic Sections. The Academia Europaea organises workshops, conferences, study groups; publishes the European Review and other academic materials; provides expert advice on European Science policy matters either alone and through the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC). The organisation is registered under UK law as a not-for-profit charity and a company limited by guarantee. Further information can be accessed via the website <u>www.ae-info.org</u>, or from the Executive Secretary.

President: Professor Sierd Cloetingh

Vice President[s]: Professor Anne Buttimer

Treasurer: Professor Roger Elliott

Executive Secretary: Dr. David Coates Email: execsec@acadeuro.org

Website: www.ae-info.org General enquiries: admin@acadeuro.org

Registered Company number 7028223. Registered not-for-profit organisation - Charity Number: 1133902

Academy of Sciences, the Heidelberg Academy, the Bavarian Academy and the German Academy for Technical Sciences, Acatech. In 2006 he was distinguished as Chevalier de Legion d'Honneur for his contributions to science and European scientific cooperation in research and education.

He was elected member of Academia Europaea in 1994 and served Academia Europaea as Chair of the Earth and Marine and Earth and Cosmic Sciences Sections. In 2008 he was elected by the Council as Vice-President of Academia Europaea. He is a current member of the Scientific Council of the ERC since 2009 and was recently elected as a Vice President of the ERC<sup>2</sup>.

In April 2014 he was awarded the honour 'Order of the Netherlands Lion (Knight)' on H.M. the King's birthday. This is to honour outstanding individuals in science, arts and literature.

Further information about Professor Cloetingh can be found at: <u>http://www.ae-info.org/ae/User/Cloetingh\_Sierd</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See <u>http://erc.europa.eu/</u>