CURRICULUM VITAE

Name: Carl-Gunne Fälthammar

Title: Professor

Address: Division of Plasma Physics, Alfvén Laboratory

Royal Institute of Technology S-100 44 Stockholm, Sweden

Born: December 4, 1931

Education: Civilingenjör (Master of Science in Engineering)

Royal Institute of Technology 1956

Filosofie Magister (M.A.), University of Stockholm 1957

Teknologie licentiat (Approx. Ph.D.), Royal Institute of Technology 1960

Teknologie Doktor, Docent, Royal Institute of Technology 1966

Positions held:

1956-1959 Research Assistant in Mathematical Physics

1960-1969 Research Positions at the Department of Plasma Physics

1969-1975 Associate Professor, Royal Institute of Technology

1975-1997 Professor of Plasma Physics, Royal Institute of Technology

Chairman of the Department of Plasma Physics July 1967 - June 1990 Director of the Division of Plasma Physics July 1990 - June 1997

July 1997 - Emeritus Professor of Plasma Physics

Publications: Author or Co-Author of more than a hundred articles in space and plasma physics

Co-Author with H. Alfvén of the book Cosmical Electrodynamics, Fundamental

Principles, International Series of Monographs on Physics, Oxford, 1963

(translated into Russian 1967, Chinese 1974 and Japanese 1978).

Academy memberships and honours:

Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (since 1975),

Chairman of the section for Astronomy and Space Science (1992-1997),

Member of the Academy Council (May 1993 - April 1999)

Member of the International Academy of Astronautics (since 1986)

Member of *Academia Europaea* (since 1991)

Honorary Doctor of Philosophy at the University of Oulu, Finland (1989)

Titular Member of the European Academy of Arts, Sciences and Humanities (since 1996)

Recipient of the *Basic Sciences Award* of the International Academy of Astronautics (1996)

Recipient of the 1996 Golden Badge Award of the European Geophysical Society

Recipient of the 1998 Hannes Alfvén Medal of the European Geophysical Society

Member of the European Academy of Sciences (2004)

Other professional memberships, etc:

Chairman of Division III (Magnetospheric Phenomena) of IAGA (International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy) (1973-1979)

Member of IAGA's Executive Committee (1979-1983)

Member of the Space Science Committee, SSC, of the European Science Foundation and SSC Liasion Member of the Committee of Solar and Space Physics of the US National Academy of Science (1979-1986)

Member of the Council of the European Geophysical Society (1981-1986)

Member of the Board of The European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division (1991-1996)

Member of the Swedish National Committee for Astronomy (1973-1979)

Member of the Swedish National Committee for Geodesy and Geophysics (1973-1996)

- Member of the Swedish National Committee for Radio Science (1970-1996) and Vice Chairman of Section GH (Ionospheric Radio and Propagation of Waves in Plasma) (1979-1996)
- Member of the Swedish National Committee for EISCAT (European Incoherent Scatter Scientific Association) (1980-1989)
- National Representative for Sweden in ICSU's Inter Union Committee on Solar Terrestrial Physics, IUCSTP (1969-1978) and in ICSU's Scientific Committee on Solar Terrestrial Physics, SCOSTEP, 1979-2005
- Member of Editorial Board (Jan. 1988 Dec. 1989) and Topical Editor (Jan. 1991 July 1995) of the international scientific journal Annales Geophysicae
- Member of Editorial Board of the international scientific journal Surveys in Geophysics (1991-1994)
- Co-Editor of the international scientific journal Astrophysics and Space Science (April 1973 December 1981) and Associate Editor since January 1982
- Member of the Editorial Board of the international scientific journal Space Science Reviews since June 1972