Member News archive#

Arnold Burgen(1922-2022)

Academia Europaea sadly announces the passing of our founding President Professor Sir Arnold Burgen.

2022 Shaw Prize

The 2022 Shaw Prize awarded to three members of Academia Europaea: Noga Alon and Ehud Hrushovski, members of the Mathematics section and Michael Perryman, member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section.

Peter Trudgill

Peter Trudgill, member of the Linguistic studies section awarded Honorary Doctorate from the Universidad de Murcia.

Nina Dethloff

Professor Nina Dethloff appointed Vice-Chair of the German Science and Humanities Council.

AE Newsletter May 2022

Newsletter from the President of Academia Europaea, Professor Marja Makarow.
May 2022.

2022 Elected members

Election and registration of new members (elected 2022).

2022 NOVO NORDISK Prize to Katalin Kariko

Professor Katalin Kariko awarded the 2022 NOVO NORDISK Prize for the development of the first COVID-19 mRNA vaccine.

Alexander Vovin (1961–2022)

Professor Alexander Vovin, a prominent member of the Classic and oriental studies section, passed away. Read the obituary by section chair, Prof. Gerd Haverling and the members of the section committee.

2022 L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science International Award

Two members of Academia Europaea, Prof. Katalin Kariko and Prof. Ángela Nieto, were awarded the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Award in recognition of the excellence of their research in the fields of life sciences.

In Memoriam John Elliott (1930 – 2022)

Sir John Elliott, distinguished member of the History and Archaeology section passed away March 10, 2022. Read the memorial words by Prof. Manuel Lucena Giraldo and Prof. Nikita Harwich.

Gold Award to Sierd Cloetingh

Professor Sierd Cloetingh to be awarded Academia Europaea’s Gold Award.


Philosopher Nancy Cartwright wins the Barcelona Hypatia European Science Prize for her outstanding contributions to philosophical research.
The ceremony is scheduled to be held at the end of October 2022.


Open call for proposals for new initiatives for 2022/2023 (Academia Europeae and Young Academy of Europe members only).

Erasmus Medal 2021

The Board of the Academia Europaea are pleased to announce that the renowned economist Philippe Aghion will be presented with an Erasmus Medal, on 27th October, 2022, at at the annual conference of the Academia Europaea in Barcelona.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-1) was last changed on Friday, 4. March 2022, 15:22 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by