Professor Ole Petersen to be awarded Academia Europaea’s Gold Award#

The Academia Europaea has announced that Professor Ole Petersen MAE FRS will be presented with the Gold Award of the Academia Europaea for his contribution to the development of European Science.

Ole Petersen
Professor Ole Petersen MAE FRS

Academia Europaea’s Gold Award

Academia Europaea’s Gold Award#

The Academia’s Gold Award is awarded to individuals and to organisations in recognition of their contribution made to European science. The Gold Award has been awarded to:

  • The Royal Society of London (1997)
  • Professor Heinz Riesenhuber (1997)
  • Dr George Soros (1997)
  • Dr Paul Sacher (1998)
  • Jacques Delors (2000)
  • Dr h.c. Klaus Tschira (2004)
  • The Max Plank Society (Die Max-Planck Gesellschaft) (2005)
  • The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (2005)
  • Riksbankens Jubileumsfonds (The Royal Bank of Sweden Tercentenary Foundation) (2007)
  • The Wenner Gren Foundations, Stockholm (2008)
  • The Compagnia di San Paolo, Turin, Italy (2009)
  • Professor Helga Nowotny (2017)
  • Robert-Jan Smits (2018)
  • The German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina) (2018)

President of Academia Europaea and Distinguished Professor Sierd Cloetingh said,

Academia Europaea is proud to award its Gold Award to Ole Petersen, one of the world’s prominent physiologists and founding member of Academia Europaea, for more than thirty years of eminent and unselfish service to our Academy and its role in scientific advice for policy in Europe.

About Professor Ole Petersen CBE FMedSci FLSW MAE ML FRS#

Ole Petersen is Professor of Physiology in the School of Biosciences at Cardiff University. As one of the world’s prominent physiologists, he leads a research group on disease of the pancreas. Petersen was elected Fellow of The Royal Society in 2000, Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in 2010 and gave the Leopoldina Lecture in 2012. He received the Nordic Insulin Foundation’s Jacobaeus Prize (1994), the Czech Academy of Sciences’ Purkynĕ Medal (2003) and was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2008 for ‘Services to Science’. In 2017, he was elected Honorary Member of the German Society for Gastroenterology, Digestive & Metabolic Diseases. More recently, he received the American Physiological Society’s Walter B Cannon Memorial Award. Professor Petersen is Vice-President of Academia Europaea and Director of the AE Cardiff Knowledge Hub. He has been appointed Chief Editor of American Physiological Society’s Open Access flagship journal ‘Function’ to be launched 2020.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-13) was last changed on Sunday, 6. March 2022, 12:06 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by