Onora ONeill

2017 Berggruen Prize for Philosophy & Culture awarded to Onora Sylvia O’Neill#

Academia Europaea are pleased to announce that Prof. Onora O’Neill, member of the Philosophy, theology and religious studies section has been awarded the 2017 Berrgruen prize for Philosophy.

On October 3, the Berggruen Prize Jury announced its selection of Onora Sylvia O’Neill, Baroness of O’Neill of Bengarve, as the winner of the 2017 Berggruen Prize for Philosophy & Culture. The $1 million award is given annually to thinkers whose ideas have profoundly shaped human self-understanding and advancement in a rapidly changing world. One of the world’s most eminent moral philosophers, O’Neill was selected from more than 500 nominees and a shortlist of five, which included some of the world’s most renowned thinkers in fields including sociology, linguistics, contemporary Chinese philosophy, and bioethics.

Established by philanthropist Nicolas Berggruen, the Berggruen Prize for Philosophy & Culture was first awarded in 2016 to Canadian philosopher Charles Taylor for his impact on the humanities, social sciences and public affairs in deepening understanding among different intellectual traditions and civilization.

This year’s Berggruen Prize Jury was headed by Kwame Anthony Appiah and comprised an international group of Nobel laureates, distinguished university leaders and government officials, including Leszek Borysiewicz, Antonio Damasio, Amy Gutmann, Amartya Sen, Alison Simmons, Michael Spence, Wang Hui, and Georg Yeo. The winner of the 2017-2018 Berggruen Prize emerged from a list of finalists from diverse fields of research. The Berggruen Institute administers the Prize and welcomes nominations of thinkers whose ideas have both intellectual depth and long-term social and practical value across nations and cultures.

The Berggruen Prize for Philosophy & Culture will be conferred in a private ceremony on December 14 at the New York Public Library. The ceremony will include tribute speeches and the presentation of the Berggruen Prize trophy, an artwork commissioned by Nicolas Berggruen and designed by internationally acclaimed artist Cai Guo-Qiang.
(Source: Berggruen Institute, http://berggruen.org.)

Academia Europaea congratulates Prof. O'Neill to this distinction! #

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Sunday, 6. March 2022, 12:50 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by